Yeah – so, a coworker of mine requested pumpkin chocolate chip cookies … So I figured ok, found a simple recipe, here from Miss Detoxinista, and bought what I didn’t have already to make it;.figured I’d just do it this morning before I got ready for work.

Now, there’s something you have to know about me before I continue. I am cursed when it comes to making cookies – something always goes wrong, they always go all flat in the oven, the edges burn … Suffice to say that they never come out looking like the picture on the book (or in.this case, on the website). But I figured I’d give it a shot.

image

So here’s all of my ingredients, lines up and ready to be measured and combined. It was probably the easiest batter I’ve ever made – nit only are these cookies vegan, but they are also grain free, which means you could make them gluten free very easily just be checking that your other ingredients are ok. Which I think they should be. But anyways, so I combined my ingredients, made my batter, and spooned it out onto my cookie sheet.

Oh, word to the wise – if you use chocolate chips, its hard to press then with the wet fork like she suggests because the chips don’t press.

image

See? Alright, so I made a batch and a half, because that’s how much almond butter was in the jar I bought, and it just made 2 dozen cookies at the size I scooped. Sp that was cool, and I was wiping scooping and baking and all that jazz – and then I took the first batch out, which of course, was a little flat and burned around the edges. I figured I baked them too long – I went for 13.5 minutes because the recipe says 12-15. So I put the second dozen in, and put those on the rack to cool.

Remember how I said something always goes wrong when I bake cookies? Well, it was around now that I realized – I had forgotten a key ingredient.  If you look in the above picture of my ingredients,.you can figure out what it was.

Give up?

It was the last item in the recipe besides the optional chocolate chips.  Yeah, that’s right – the salt. Well, it was to late at this point, so I just let it bake and waited to see what happened.  The end result? I.didn’t burn the second dozen,. Though the cookies still looked all flattened out and ugly, but this time almost every single one crumbled when I took it off the cookie sheet with my spatula.  It was a hot mess (literally).  After they cooled a bit, I packaged them up to take up work, but I’m not letting anyone eat them – I’m just taking them as evidence that I tried.

image

The ones on the right were the first burned batch, and the ones on the left were the second crumbly dozen. You can’t really see how much they fell apart in that shot though, so let me show you my countertop after I put them in the tupperware:

image

It was at this point I also realized that the blue top didn’t fit on the tupperware I’d gotten out, so I had to put them all into one container. Just the careful movement from one container turned the.second batch onto this:

image

So yeah- having a great morning, aren’t I? xD Can anyone tell me (and I mean besides the fact there was no salt in this batch, because this happens even with a perfect recipe – I’ve even had it happen with those premade squares you buy then break apart and bake why my cookie batter always flattens out so that the edges burn every time? I would be eternally grateful! ^^;;

Oh, and don’t forget to vote on my survey – its still open! :)

