The leftovers from my juicing were striped today. xD

The leftovers from my juicing were striped today. xD

So … I didn’t get around to TapouT yesterday night (Monday), so I actually did the first day this morning.  And funny story; I haven’t done TapouT in almost a full year, but when I was working out … strangely – I needed the next resistance band up from the standard one that came with the original TapouT.  If you saw my video on TapouT (and if you didn’t you should definitely check it out here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KcIpBzrfm68) then you know that I bought some resistance bands for $5 from Five Below when I first started doing TapouT.  They were a lot cheaper than the official ones, and if they served their purpose great, and if they didn’t, well it was less than $20 into a wasted experiment.

Mmm ... 36 Drops of Chlorophyll ...

Mmm … 36 Drops of Chlorophyll …

Well, interestingly, because they were cheaper, they are shorter than the TapOut band – and they are made of stiffer, less bendable rubber.  Which means they are not as good quality – but it also means that as an accidental effect, they actually give more resistance … Like, a lot more resistance than the TapouT band I have.  Which is awesome for my purposes … So, in short, I started off with the red band that I purchased from Five Below because with the red TapouT band I literally felt like I was using nothing.

So, for that I felt cool.

Now; for things that are less cool.

We’ll start with my apartment.  And the fact that there really is no good open space to do this workout.  I was constantly rolling back and forth and kicking my plant and my coffee table, as well as hitting my face and shins on various desk legs and TV trays … So there was that.  I have to figure out better placement of thing, which is going to mean moving my desk around I think and getting rid of said TV tray and maybe … ick I dunno, but it’ll take some thought.  Another problem I realized?  Well, my heat is included in my rent.  Which is just dandy because my landlord keeps the temperature at a hellish level (literally there are times I feel like I am boiling in oil while sitting on my couch).  And that’s awesome in the winter when it’s 3 degrees outside, which it currently is some such ludicrous temperature, but … When you’re working out, not so awesome.  Went through 2 bottles of water this morning while working out and that was just taking breaks and stuff.  I chugged like, a lot of my juice when I first made it too.

Which brings me to another not so cool thing.  My juice concoction for today.  Because I learned a valuable lesson today – either have a SUPER high powered juicer than can handle broccoli, or strain it after you make it, because there are little tiny broccoli bud pieces all over this juice … To the point that I couldn’t finish it for today; I had to pour out the last few ounces or so. : /  If you look to the right, you will see what I put in today – and this is all of it xD  No last minute additions here.

0107140735Today we have:

– Half a head of Kale
– 1 Fuji Apple
– 1 Bosc Pear
– 1-1/2″ Ginger Root
– 1/2 Lemon
– 1 Cucumber
– 1 Broccoli Crown
– 1 bag of baby carrots
– 36 drops Chlorophyl
– 1/2c or so of water

And it actually tasted pretty good … But the texture was so frothy and bumpy that I couldn’t do it.  I’m not usually all about texture – I can stomach a lot of things, but … this was asking a little too much today.  I drank most of it – probably like 28-30 of the 32oz I had to drink, but … Ick.  So, lesson learned – if you are juicing broccoli, make sure you have a high powered juicer that will grind it up really fine, or else head over to your utensils drawer, get a strainer and go to town.  Maybe some cheesecloth if you are really fancy or well prepared in the kitchen area.  I’m not, but maybe you are. ^^;;

0107140745And again, there were pretty colors; this time they layered when I juiced them which was kind of cool.  Yesterday they just sort of mixed up together, and that was that.  This was just the fruit and carrots at this point, the kale and cucumber and stuff was afterwards but .. yeah – weird stripe-age.  Anyways.  So, what have I learned so far for juicing for a day?

Well, the stories were true; SO MUCH CRAVING FOR SOLID FOOD.  I was heating up the tomato soup I had to make for dinner last night, and I was like, OMG I WANT CRACKERS.  OR BREAD.  OR SOMETHING WITH THIS. GAAAHHH.  It was terrible. ^^;; But, I did manage to persevere after much persevering, and managed to sit down in front of my computer and just do my WoW dailies quietly without solid food.  I also indulged in a Bolthouse Farms Vanilla Chai tea with soy, which while not hot and delicious like the version I get from Starbucks (which I refuse to purchase when in the city because holy crap that price), still delicious and gave me a little extra protein and a few more calories to cram in my gullet so that I at least made my 1200 calorie intake.  Actually I hit 1300 but who’s counting? xD  Speaking of which, let’s figure out the calories for today so far, shall we?  There will probably be less because I forewent the grapes, but you never know …

Produce Amount Caloric Value
1 Fuji Apple 80 Calories
1 Bosc Pear 100 Calories
1-1/2″ Ginger Root 20 Calories
1 Cucumber 46 Calories
1/2 Lemon 15 calories
Kale 70 Calories
Broccoli Crown 75 Calories
Baby Carrots 175 Calories
Chlorophyll 15 Calories
Total: 596 Calories

Aand … well, not too bad, but missing that punch that the red grapes gave it yesterday for sure xD It’s almost 300 calories less, but that’s ok – still in an acceptable range, especially because I had another one of those delicious Vanilla Chai tea drinks, and they’re like, 300 calories a pop or something so … We’re good for the moment. I’ve still got at least one meal to eat and 5 hours before bed, so I’m sure I’ll manage another 300 calories or so by then.

That’s all for this update.  I’ll be back tomorrow after more TapouT with a new juice experiment.  Without broccoli.  Or, if with broccoli, then I’ll let you know how straining the juice goes.

Until next time, remember: There’s no use boiling your cabbage twice. :]

